Advertisement

Author Topic: This is the year! v.firstride  (Read 6571 times)

Finest

This is the year! v.firstride
« on: February 07, 2011, 03:36:45 PM »
I've always said I want to ride, but something always come up to sidetrack me from getting a bike.  (tuition, bills, etc)  But this is the year!  I've made up my mind, it's now or never!   :D

So from my quick research, I've narrowed down my choices to the following:

04-06 CBR600RR

or

04-06 ZX6R (636)

The main features I was looking for are obviously fuel-injection and a comfortable-for-a-sportbike ride (and of course the looks!).  The other two 600 choices (GSXR or R6) I've read had a more race-inspired riding position, which would make it less comfortable on long hauls?  Personal opinions, I guess.  Anyone with experience with anything in this 600 class would really help me here.  I've sat on a few bikes at the local dealer, but I have no riding experience so I don't know what I should be looking for?  I'll be taking the MSF course this coming Spring, and hopefully riding by April (it's my birthday present from the wife, lol!).  

Like this post: 0

Adverstisement

Finest

Re: This is the year! v.firstride
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 08:04:23 PM »
I'm not going to even consider modding it until I'm more confident in my riding skills, just going to be a commuter bike for awhile. 

As for fit, I'm about 5'8", and from just sitting on a few bikes in the showroom I can get both feet down comfortably.  I tried to get into a "riding" position, and by far the 600RR was more comfortable.  Didn't feel like I was resting on my palms like on the GSXR.  I don't know, I'll have to sit on a few more to get it right.  Of course riding them is another story!  I guess I'm looking for something that's comfortable enough for an hour long ride without needing back surgery afterwards.  LOL! 

And yes, tires will be one of the top priorities when I'm looking to purchase a bike.   O0

yuknowthat