Advertisement

Author Topic: What is a modem? What is a router?  (Read 4417 times)

Offline Reporter

• Administrator
  • Pey-Pey and NiNi's 1st Snow Kid.
  • Respect: +562
    • View Profile
What is a modem? What is a router?
« on: December 30, 2011, 07:26:15 PM »
I am trying to sign up for an internet and I asked the sales rep of the account comes with a modem or some kind of wireless accessory so that I could connect my home computer with my work computer within 10 miles apart. She said "..it comes with a modem. You can pick up a router to make it wireless..."

What does she mean? What are those two things: modem and router?

Yeah, I'm a novice.

Thanks.

Like this post: 0
"...
The snooping eye sees everything."--Ono No Komachi, Japanese Poetess (emphasis)

Adverstisement

Offline thePoster

• Elite Poster
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: What is a modem? What is a router?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 10:54:58 PM »
Dude are you serious?

Modem's if you got highspeed usually comes with the company.  Most of the time they are wired, meaning that you have to connect your computer to the modem via an ethernet cable.  If you want to go wireless more than likely you have to get a 3rd party router from an electronic's store and hook it up to your modem.  Then you can go wireless.  Your computer will communicate with the router(which will be wirless if you bought one that is wireless) which will communicate with your modem(which will be connected to your router via an ethernet cable and the line running out of your house to the world wide web).  So what you really want to ask the salesrep is if they offer wireless modem's.  That way you don't have to go buy a router.

I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

sinister357