Advertisement

Author Topic: Basketball Skills and Tendencies  (Read 6125 times)

bulbasaur

Basketball Skills and Tendencies
« on: September 27, 2015, 11:16:27 PM »
Everyone has tendencies.  Some are good, and some are bad.  I am by no means a great basketball player (if I were, I would be pro), but that doesn't mean that I don't recognize my own and others.  Let's look at some. 

1.  The Favorable Hand

Most people favor one hand over the other, but some guys are completely useless with their weak hand.  I am one of them, but I have tricks to hide it.  When I started playing, I couldn't go left at all.  Defenders eventually figured this out, and all I had was the left side.  I eventually started going left.  These days, I prefer going left than right, even though my left is still far weaker.  I can finish with my left hand, but it's not a strong finish.  I prefer to post and fade from the left block, so that is always an option.  I can also pull-up faster going left since my right arm is more in line with the basket when driving left.  I can also do a harder crossover going left-to-right.   

I was complimented by a guy for my ability to go left and right, but the reality is that it is just an illusion.  My drive in general is not very good, which leads us to....

Like this post: 0

Adverstisement

bulbasaur

Re: Basketball Skills and Tendencies
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2015, 11:21:26 PM »
2.  The Drive

I drive both ways, but my drive is more on deception than the actual skill itself.  After a  couple of shots, most defenders try to stop my shot, so it opens up my drive.  I just happen to have a 10ish foot floater and scoop, so I don't even need to finish hard.  All I really need are just a few steps.  In fact, I don't even consider myself to be a good finisher. 

bulbasaur

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2015, 11:25:16 PM »
3.  The Bad Shooter