Advertisement

Author Topic: Gatsby's Green Light  (Read 9859 times)

Offline Asharia

• Jr. Poster
  • Respect: +300
    • View Profile
Re: Gatsby's Green Light
« Reply #30 on: May 13, 2019, 03:37:57 PM »
... and to think that only ghosts haunt humans. even the land is not immune.

how i came to wax poetic about the great gatsby without drowning myself
aka "how working here is so boring i read 5 books in one month and wrote something long overdue"

maureen corrigan* once said that the one thing you can relied on in a college english freshman class is that everyone would had at least read the all american classic, the great gatsby, before even stepping foot on campus. I don’t know how true that is, but i know i have read and loved the great gatsby before stepping onto my campus. I was a sophomore in high school in Mrs. C’s AP english class (years later my best friend who seems to know everyone then and now would tell me that Mrs C divorced her husband and moved to the UK which sucks because she had once assigned us to write letters to our adult selves in which she promised to deliver after a ten year span ---it’s been over ten years and then some ---but that’s a story for another day). Well, Mrs C was about two years fresh out of college but I didn’t care because when you’re in high school twenty-somethings seems more like forever-nothings but definitely not teen-anymore so any adults no matter how young in their career is automatically old in our eyes. AP english wasn’t hard because i was a nerd devouring everything i could get my hands on since coming to this country. In the fourth grade Mrs Blankenship, like all well rounded teachers preverbially do, asked me what i wanted to be but lacking the vocabulary and harboring an insane about of fright of the strange language i only stared at her before my white classmate (who has never seen an asian girl by the way that i was often confused for pocahontas since it was around the time the disney movie came out) elbowed m