Advertisement

Author Topic: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.  (Read 23144 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thePoster

  • Elite Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 17129
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
That's illegal in basketball?

what kinda bull es is that?

If your feet, either one or both stays planted and you toss the ball in the air and not move your foot and catch it, I don't see how that can be illegal.

That is ridiculous.

That is my fake shot move.  Cheezes...




Like this post: 0
I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

Adverstisement

bulbasaur

  • Guest
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2016, 01:34:15 AM »
Didn't I tell you that was illegal (on many courts anyways) a really long time ago?  You don't listen. 

That's illegal in basketball?

what kinda bull es is that?

If your feet, either one or both stays planted and you toss the ball in the air and not move your foot and catch it, I don't see how that can be illegal.

That is ridiculous.

That is my fake shot move.  Cheezes...



Like this post: 0

bulbasaur

  • Guest
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2016, 02:08:03 AM »
Just for fun, let's explain why many people see this as illegal...

1.  It's an illegal self pass.   In many games, once the ball leaves the players hands, the ball either has to be touched by another player, rim, or backboard before the player can possess it again.  Or, the ball simply needs to be dribbled. 

2.  It's an air ball.   A lot of people play by NBA rules, and a player can't retrieve his/her own shot.  If it is not an air ball, then it is a self pass.  See above. 

This has nothing to do with your feet. 

There are some games where such a move might be allowed. 



Like this post: 0

Offline thePoster

  • Elite Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 17129
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2016, 02:26:26 PM »
I don't understand how it can be a self pass.

You haven't gained and ground or distance if your feet are planted and say you tossed the ball up in the air and you catch it and your feet haven't moved at all.

How can that be illegal. 

That's just a ridiculous rule in my opinion.



In any case!  I'm sticking to my blacktop basketball roots!


« Last Edit: August 10, 2016, 02:32:07 PM by thePoster »

Like this post: 0
I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

FetishDream

  • Guest
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2016, 02:52:49 PM »
Consider this

You get the ball after a pass or inbound.   Everyone is way over there at the other half of the court so there is no need to get fancy.   You flip the ball in a spin in front of you so when it hits the floor, it bounces back to you for a dribble.   Self pass or what? 



Like this post: 0

Offline ProudLao

  • Mekong In My Heart
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 8495
  • Still a little boy running free in Laos
  • Respect: +521
    • View Profile
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2016, 04:29:03 PM »
Consider this

You get the ball after a pass or inbound.   Everyone is way over there at the other half of the court so there is no need to get fancy.   You flip the ball in a spin in front of you so when it hits the floor, it bounces back to you for a dribble.   Self pass or what?

Have you dribbled after gaining that possession?



Like this post: 0
I take refuge in the Buddha.
I take refuge in the dharma.
I take refuge in the sangha.

Theravada

bulbasaur

  • Guest
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2016, 05:02:48 PM »
I bounced the ball with two hands and stopped, but I didn't move my feet nor gained any distance.  Why is this illegal? 

I took 5 dribbles.  Stopped.  Dribbled again in place.  Stopped.  I didn't move my feet nor gained any distance.  Why is this illegal?

I sat down with the ball.  Then I stood up.  Dribbled once.  Sat down again.  Stood up again.  I didn't move my feet nor gained any distance.  Why is this illegal? 


That's just a ridiculous rule in my opinion.

In any case!  I'm sticking to my blacktop basketball roots!



Like this post: 0

Offline thePoster

  • Elite Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 17129
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2016, 05:16:01 PM »
I just asked all the guys in this classroom and they said it's illegal.


But I'm still gonna do it!



Like this post: 0
I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

bulbasaur

  • Guest
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2016, 06:01:40 PM »
I dribble with two hands.  Guys in the class say it is illegal, but I am still going to do it. 



Like this post: 0

Offline thePoster

  • Elite Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 17129
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2016, 06:29:21 PM »
Have you dribbled after gaining that possession?

No, there is no advantage gained.

Like I said...

Let me try to paint the picture.

Let's imagine you're on the court.

You're wearing shoes.

You have super glue on your shoes.

They are stuck on the court.

You can't move your feet at all.

You receive a pass.

You catch it.

You hold the ball in your hands. 

You throw the ball up in the air about a feet and it comes back down and you catch it.

Obviously your feet hasn't moved.

And that's illegal?


That's what I'm talking about.

I don't understand the point in that being illegal.

You've gained no advantage over the team.

YOu didn't illegally advance the ball.




Like this post: 0
I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

Offline thePoster

  • Elite Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 17129
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2016, 06:32:24 PM »
Now I seen some other stuff I seen that I think should be illegal.

I've seen people catch the ball and then hop to the side and then take a shot. 

That's a travel in my opinion.  I seen it in the NBA!

If I'm spot up shooting, I always plant my feet as I recieve the pass.

I see other's if they are spot up shooting and they receive the pass and then hop to the side a bit and then shoot...

What is up with that?  That's a travel if I even seen anyone.  They didn't even dribble the ball once. 

That's going to be legal?  You gain an advantage where as the move I'm doing is not gaining any advantage is illegal?




Like this post: 0
I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

Offline thePoster

  • Elite Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 17129
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2016, 06:33:18 PM »
Jame's harden's step back, that's a travel if I ever seen one.

I can see a way you can do that where it's not a travel, but the way he's doing it, it's a travel in my books!



Like this post: 0
I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

bulbasaur

  • Guest
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2016, 06:51:00 PM »
And you "fake shooting" is not an advantage?  Stop contradicting yourself. 



Like this post: 0

Offline thePoster

  • Elite Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 17129
  • Respect: +299
    • View Profile
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2016, 07:17:33 PM »
Plus... how can it be a self pass?

To pass a ball any ball is to get the ball from one place to another.

But you haven't even gain any distance. 

If I was to hold the ball in one hand and drop it down to my other hand, that's a pass?

Makes no sense.



Like this post: 0
I went through all 15k posts and those 2 quotes I found were the only ones so I guess that would make it "everytime".  Feel free to go through all 15k posts and verify by quoting them all.  You need to quote them all to verifying prove "everytime".   Please verify that Im wrong.

bulbasaur

  • Guest
Re: I did not know that you cannot throw the ball in the air and catch it.
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2016, 07:19:33 PM »
Yes, moving something from one hand to the other hand is a pass. 

Plus... how can it be a self pass?

To pass a ball any ball is to get the ball from one place to another.

But you haven't even gain any distance. 

If I was to hold the ball in one hand and drop it down to my other hand, that's a pass?

Makes no sense.



Like this post: 0

 

Advertisements