Advertisement

Author Topic: Let's discuss Seventh Day Adventist  (Read 1287 times)

Yengimer

Let's discuss Seventh Day Adventist
« on: April 22, 2018, 08:18:41 AM »
I'm not really an expert on the SDA but I'll try to write what I know based off of my years of dealing with them.
SDA strongly believe in keeping of the 10 commandments, especially the 4th commandment. They believe they are also the true Church just like Mormons (because they kept the law, they are closer to God.)

One complication in dealing with the SDA is that they are probably using the Clear World Bible, an SDA paraphrase where they have changed all the verses that don't fit their theology. Similarly to how the Jehovah Witnesses uses the New World Translation.

Now let's get back to what SDa actually believe.  SDA believe there was a distinction between the 10 Commandments written on stones and the Book of Law. The 10 Commandments were place inside the Ark of the Covenant and the Book of Law were written on parchment and was place beside it. Hence the distinction.

SDA believe that the Law of Moses were abolished but not the 10 Commandments.

This is one point I actually agree with them. We are not under the Jewish "ceremonial" law - which was a punishment for sin...
We are still under the moral law - it, like God never changes.

SDA would argue that the Book of Law was fulfilled in Christ and gone but not the 10 Commandments. The fact that it was place inside the Ark of covenant should tell us it is more significant over the Book of Moses.

Just to clarify. The Book of Law and the Book of Moses are the same.

The question is do we still keep the Sabbath?

In a certain context it did bring death via not obeying them....

Commandment = thou shall/thou shall not do such and such.

Statute = how you are to do or not do such and such.

Judgment = what happens to you if you do or don't do such and such.

In many cases breaking the law equated to death.