Advertisement

Author Topic: Should I keep going ?  (Read 7408 times)

Offline ciel

• PH Newbie
  • Respect: 0
    • View Profile
Should I keep going ?
« on: August 19, 2019, 01:47:58 AM »
Hey all ! I would love some input/advice/encouragement. I’m torn between moving forward or staying stagnant with my education and I think all I may need is a little push. In my heart, I want to seek higher education but my mind is telling me I can’t do it. Reason being, I’ve had to deal with a lot of things since graduating 4 yrs ago and my goals have just been swept under the rug. My degree is a BA in Sociology and I had planned to do my postgraduate in Social Work soon after but unfortunately I lost my dad right before graduation. I halted all plans and stayed home to care for my mother, it took me a year to get back on my feet and I found a job in the medical field which I really came to enjoy. It got me thinking about entering a MSPA Program which I had planned to this fall however my mom suddenly passed, just very recently. So I’m devastated, really lost, and feel pointless. Now I’m just full of doubt about everything from plans about returning to school to deciding what I want to get my masters in now. Idk what to do guys :/

Like this post: 0

Adverstisement

Offline tRouBLe

• Administrator
  • Welcome to PH! 😜
  • Respect: +1038
    • View Profile
Re: Should I keep going ?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2019, 11:51:59 AM »
I’m sorry for your losses.  It is devastating and hard when you lose loved ones but do not contemplate too much about the past because what’s done is done, there is nothing you can do about it.  It’s the present that will affect your future, so take time for yourself and refocus on your goals/priorities.  What is it that you want?  Maybe some of the Sociology majors in here can assist you in helping make a decision, in regards to their knowledge and experiences in that field...

Good luck!