Advertisement

Author Topic: Can a Black person convince KKK members to convert and give up their robes??  (Read 251 times)

Offline theking

• Elite Poster
  • Respect: +1322
    • View Profile
I'm a Black musician who has befriended and encouraged over 200 Ku Klux Klan members to give up their robes. Here's how I approach these sensitive conversations.

In 1968, when I was in the fourth grade, I was in a newly-integrated school in Massachusetts where I was one of two Black children. All of my friends were white, and they invited me to join the Cub Scouts.

We had a Scouts parade for Patriots' Day one day, and I was the only Black participant. The sidewalks were lined with white people waving and cheering and having a good time — until we got to a certain point in the route where I was suddenly being pelted with bottles and soda pop cans and rocks.

I didn't understand what was going on. I thought these people just didn't like the Scouts. It wasn't until my Scout leaders came running over and covering me with their own bodies that I realized no other Scouts were getting hit.

That night, my mother and father sat me down, and for the first time in my life, at the age of 10, they explained to me what racism was. You may find this a little hard to believe, especially in this day and age, but I had never heard the word "racism" because it had not existed in my world, growing up surrounded by people from all over the world. We all got along, even if we didn't speak the same language.

That was when I realized that racism is a learned behavior. I began to educate myself, reading books on Black supremacy, white supremacy, antisemitism, neo-Nazis — anyone who felt that the color of their skin gave them superiority over others.

Daryl Davis with Ku Klux Klan Imperial Wizard
Davis with an Imperial Wizard of the Ku Klux Klan. Courtesy of Daryl Davis
My first encounter with a member of the Ku Klux Klan