Advertisement

Author Topic: What is the difference between a modem and a router?  (Read 11601 times)

Offline Reporter

• Administrator
  • Pey-Pey and NiNi's 1st Snow Kid.
  • Respect: +562
    • View Profile
What is the difference between a modem and a router?
« on: December 30, 2011, 07:25:15 PM »
I am trying to sign up for an internet and I asked the sales rep if the account comes with a modem or some kind of wireless accessory so that I could connect my home computer with my work computer within 10 miles apart. She said "..it comes with a modem. You can pick up a router to make it wireless..."

What does she mean? What are those two things: modem and router?

Yeah, I'm a novice.

Thanks.

« Last Edit: December 30, 2011, 10:10:47 PM by Reporter »

Like this post: 0
"...
The snooping eye sees everything."--Ono No Komachi, Japanese Poetess (emphasis)

Adverstisement

JimmyNeutron

Re: What is the difference between a modem and a router?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2011, 07:55:07 PM »

« Last Edit: September 16, 2012, 01:10:16 PM by JimmyNeutron »

Midnight_Reflection

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2011, 09:10:04 PM »
Jimmy explained everything up there 4 u Reporter, but if you're still confuse, I'll help make it easier...

Modem

Router

Offline slude

• Jr. Poster
  • Respect: +86
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2011, 10:13:41 PM »
reporter,

in a nutshell,

a modem is an internet box that connects to your phone line. you connect your pc (hardwire) to the modem to get the internet.

a router is a box that connects to the modem so you don't have to hardwire to the modem to get internet. the router is the wireless bridge between your pc and the modem.

advice, go buy a two-in-one box; modem and router.

Offline Reporter

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2011, 10:25:54 PM »
So, three replies and I know everything: