Advertisement

Author Topic: what's on your mind?  (Read 15790 times)

couchpotato

Re: what's on your mind?
« Reply #60 on: November 10, 2013, 06:54:06 AM »
I was in a similar situation in high school. My grandmother (who as the only living grandparent I had left growing up) passed away when I was a sophomore in high school.

I had just returned to school after taking a week off for my grandmother's funeral. In my IB English Lit class, the topic of predestination came up. The teacher asked me if I believed in predestination .

I remember mumbling that yes, I believed that everything was predestined. To push it a bit further, she asked if that meant the win or loss of a baseball game was also predestined. I vaguely remember stating that yes, even something as seemingly small as a the win or a loss of baseball game was predestined. I went further and stated that perhaps a person is betting all their money on the win or loss of a specific game. The outcome determines their next steps. After that, I for some reason got really choked up and mumbled something about my grandmother dying. Next thing you know, tears were streaming down my face. Thinking back, I probably was not very articulate and made no sense whatsoever.

The next day, the teacher apologized to me.  ;D After that incident, I felt really awkward in that class- there were only 12 students so I couldn't even hide in the background.  ;D

Like this post: 0

Adverstisement

ZongDauHang

« Reply #61 on: November 10, 2013, 09:45:51 PM »
haha. So do you still believe that everything is predestined?

couchpotato

« Reply #62 on: November 10, 2013, 09:53:59 PM »
haha. So do you still believe that everything is predestined?

I believe everything happens for a reason, big or small. We just might not be aware of it. :)

ZongDauHang

« Reply #63 on: November 11, 2013, 01:12:16 AM »
that's good that you believe so. I think so too. As they say, nothing is gaurantee in life.

ZongDauHang