Advertisement

Author Topic: Art Appreciation  (Read 6698 times)

bulbasaur

Art Appreciation
« on: September 12, 2015, 12:46:56 AM »
I am not an expert at art, but that doesn't mean that I don't appreciate art.  Here is a collection of some of my favorites or some that have influenced me or some that I just happen to have come across through the years...

Nighthawks - Edward Hopper

I first came across this painting in a book in elementary school.  The book was an anthology of stories.  I don't remember what I read from that book, but I remember the painting.  At the time, I didn't know it was such a popular painting.  I was just thinking about what stories the people and the location had.  I didn't even know the name of the painting until years later. 

Like this post: 0

Adverstisement

bulbasaur

Re: Art Appreciation
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 12:53:01 AM »
Rubber Duck - Florentijn Hofman

This thing was an international fixation for a while.  I saw it while traveling in Asia.  The entire harbor looked like some street carnival.  Toy ducks, hats, duck calls, etc. were all being sold.  I bought a duck hat and duck bill for souvenirs. 

bulbasaur

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 01:04:56 AM »
The Thinker - Rodin

I was super-hyped to see The Thinker in person.  This is one of the most famous pieces of art in history.  When I saw it, it looked really good.  However, I later found out that there are actually multiple castings of The Thinker.  There are about 20 or so "official" ones.  But less than half of those were actually made with Rodin's direct supervision.  I guess it wouldn't really matter.  All the statues look alike.  However, it is a bit deceiving. 

bulbasaur

« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2015, 05:05:41 AM »
The Great Wave off Kanagawa