Advertisement

Author Topic: CCENT or CCNA  (Read 2756 times)

beester

CCENT or CCNA
« on: June 08, 2010, 01:16:18 PM »
I'm thinking about getting Cisco certified. Will a CCENT be enough to get in the door or do I need a CCNA? I have some experience in Cisco, 2600 Router, ASA 5510, but I know that a certificate would make it easier to get hired. Has anyone been certified? How hard are the tests?

Like this post: 0

Adverstisement

Love2Kiss

Re: CCENT or CCNA
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2010, 02:50:34 PM »
I'm thinking about getting Cisco certified. Will a CCENT be enough to get in the door or do I need a CCNA? I have some experience in Cisco, 2600 Router, ASA 5510, but I know that a certificate would make it easier to get hired. Has anyone been certified? How hard are the tests?

I never touch CISCO at all so I have no idea, but I believe someone here can give you some idea.

AOZ

« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2010, 04:27:58 PM »
Certs are soo overated!!   Even my teenager girls are CompTIA A+ Certified... they'll be getting their MCP soon.  And because they got their A+ b4 Jan 2011... they will never ever need to renew.   

Certs are very easy to obtain.   For geeks.... all u need is to pick up a book and do some reading for a few days and then to take the test.   It's that simple if you've already been working with cisco switches/routers.  Oh.... make sure you brush up on subnetting for this exam.   ;) O0

six

« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2010, 06:11:58 PM »
Get ya CCNA.  It'll get you pass the filtering scripts and HR.  Certs are only overated if the hiring manager is a geek or has less certs than you. 

beester

« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2010, 10:45:33 AM »
Certs are soo overated!!   Even my teenager girls are CompTIA A+ Certified... they'll be getting their MCP soon.  And because they got their A+ b4 Jan 2011... they will never ever need to renew.