Advertisement

Author Topic: Indoor and Outdoor Portrait Settings for Nikon DSLR cameras  (Read 2428 times)

Rani

I'm curious as to what Nikon owners use for their settings when taking facial portraits indoor (with appropriate artificial lights) and outdoor portraits (bright natural light)....

Like this post: 0

Adverstisement

nou

Re: Indoor and Outdoor Portrait Settings for Nikon DSLR cameras
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 11:59:24 PM »
I usually set my ISO to the lowest number.  I shoot in "S" mode and just adjust as needed.

I'm still learning how to fully function my camera(s).  But I find the "S" mode to be the most comfortable for me as I can control the shutter speed.  I do a lot of googling and youtubing to learn the functions of my camera... I refuse to read/understand the monster user's guide the camera comes with.

Let us know of any tricks you find! =)

Benevolent_One

« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2013, 08:43:36 AM »
Per kouasupra, you must use a light meter to get the best setting.  I am trying to use mine.

I shoot mostly with prime lens.  For portraits, I NEVER set at the widest aperture.  Go down one or two stops.  I noticed that this creates pleasing bokeh.  The down side to this is that other body parts may not be so sharp due to the shallow depth of field.  If your subject takes up most of the field, set to F/8. 

My ISO is 98% set at 200.
With kids or sports, my shutter is 1/500.  Need to freeze them.

Make sure your subjects are wearing make up!  Yes, even the guys.  For me, this means less work in post production.

Do let us know what works for you. 

zena

« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2013, 10:14:55 AM »
I change the settings often depending on what my goal is.  I would think it's the same for anyone who loves photography and especially for pros.

Personally, I never use artificial light ever.  That's just not my style.  I love natural light indoors and outdoors.

nou, you really should read the manual.  That's your best friend right there.  ;)

nou